Instructions

Does anyone remember those quizzes in school with instructions to write your name, then put your pencil down and wait? You know the ones with really silly things written in the questions for you to do if you didn’t read the instructions first. I feel like the kid that’s jumping up and down on one foot clucking like a chicken with all the other students pointing and laughing. Why? Because I had a blond moment and thought I knew how to make a cake.

One of those lovely box cakes. Not just any box cake mix, a white cake. I’ve never made a white cake before. I’ve made yellow and chocolate and poppy-seed mixes before. I got out the oil, water, and eggs like normal. Put them all in the bowl like normal with the mix. And I’m standing there stirring the mix and it turns yellow. So I tell my mother, “I don’t think this white cake will be white. The yolks are turning it yellow.”

And as I’m still stirring it she says, “Well, white cakes don’t have yolks in them.” What?? I looked at the instructions again and sure enough it says 3 large egg whites. Opps. “You didn’t read the instructions, did you?”

To make it a little worse, we have several varied sized eggs, so I ended up using 4 eggs. It’s a rather yellow cake now.

Bawk, bawk, bawk.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 06:42:54

    As long as it tastes good…that’s all that matters! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Archives

